Hollis Brookline Journal > Editorials

Some races are more than marking finish times and speeds, and winning trophies. Though many races/rides help raise money for worthy causes, the Jonathan Gilmour Memorial Scholarship Bike, Ride and Walk is that and more. The annual event brings a community together and helps ease …

Friday, May 10, 2013
It’s out of this world! We’re talking about the Hollis Social Library and its new Orion StarBlast 4.5-inch astronomical telescope that is now available to library patrons. The Hollis Social …
Friday, April 26, 2013
We, like many of you, are trying to make sense of the two explosions that rocked the finish line of the Boston Marathon on Monday. Listening to reports on the …
Friday, April 19, 2013
Hollis is a town rich in history. Chartered as the town of Dunstable in 1673, its roots go back to a land grant to Capt. John Mason in 1629. This …
Friday, April 5, 2013
Recent snow storms, as unwelcome as they might have been, served one continuing purpose: to remind us of how hard our state and local highway departments work and what a …
Friday, March 29, 2013
Recent snow storms, as unwelcome as they might have been, served one continuing purpose: to remind us of how hard our state and local highway departments work and what a …
Thursday, March 28, 2013
The calendar is telling us it’s spring but someone should tell Old Man Winter the time has come for him to rest until next year. Many of us are tired …
Thursday, March 21, 2013
We asked candidates to provide information online by March 1 so it would make our print deadline. We heard from some candidates and the profiles are in this week’s issue. …
Friday, March 8, 2013
We know that it can be hard to get enthusiastic about the local March elections. After all, we’re not inundated with robocalls or television commercials or out-in-the-open nastiness. But, we …
Friday, March 1, 2013
Candidates, now that you’ve thrown your hat into the ring to vie for elected seats, you should let voters know who you are and what’s your position on the issues …
Friday, February 22, 2013
Yes, it snowed. Yes, there was a lot of snow. But did it require the kind of wall-to-wall coverage with which we were inundated Saturday on all four Boston TV …
Friday, February 15, 2013
Dancing with your favorite sweetheart and jumping into the icy waters at Seabrook Beach are a few of the events happening next weekend. Though dancing may seem more enjoyable than …
Friday, February 8, 2013
The FIRST Robotics teams are on their way to another challenging season of competitions. The Hollis Brookline High School FIRST team, FORCE 1073, is busy perfecting its robot for the …
Friday, February 1, 2013
The numbers are in and the community came through, just as we had expected. Our readers donated about $109,580 plus tens of thousands more in toys to help children in …
Friday, January 25, 2013
Last weekend, about 96 people strapped on their snowshoes and helped raise money for the Beaver Brook Conservation Association. The event took place in Hollis, but reaped far more benefits …
Friday, January 18, 2013
It’s good to hear that the victims of Superstorm Sandy have not been forgotten. Recently, the Hollis Brookline Rotary Club joined forces with brothers, Martin and Michael McLaughlin, and the …
Friday, January 11, 2013
On Feb. 9, if you think you’re seeing everything pink, don’t worry. That’s when the PINK RIDE snowmobilers will be maneuvering along local trails to raise money to help fight …
Friday, January 4, 2013
We hope your holidays were better than expected, and your anticipation proved worthwhile. In a few days, 2012 will be a memory. It’s now time for those annual New Year’s …
Friday, December 28, 2012
We wish you all a merry Christmas and holiday season, and hope you had a happy Hanukkah. Sometimes with shopping, double checking those wish lists and decorating our homes, we …
Friday, December 21, 2012
Toys for Tots is 237 gifts richer in helping children have a Merry Christmas, thanks to a wonderful group of Hollis first-graders. The six girls, Gracie Dortona, Allie Houvenor, Samantha …
Friday, December 14, 2012
Are you busy getting ready for the holidays? We know how time can get away from us, especially after summer winds down, kids go back to school, and wham!, it’s …
Friday, December 7, 2012
This weekend, people are coming together to help others in need, and help get a business back on its feet. Kudos to the community for bringing the true meaning of …
Friday, November 30, 2012
Everyone loves to get gifts, and the old saying, “It’s better to give than receive,” is true when you help bring joy to someone alone on the holidays. When you’re …
Friday, November 23, 2012
Hurricane Sandy has touched people in many ways. Many people who were in or near the eye of the storm lost everything they had. Imagine how you would feel if …
Friday, November 16, 2012
Veterans Day is Sunday, Nov. 11 and we hope you will take the time to honor all those veterans at home and in the community who fought for our freedoms …
Friday, November 9, 2012
In a few days, the Nov. 6 general election will finally be here. We urge all residents to exercise their right to vote. As we all know, this is a …
Friday, November 2, 2012
The Brookline Economic Development Committee, selectmen and the Planning Board have the right idea by trying to attract new businesses to town, and doing what it can to retain those …
Friday, October 26, 2012
It’s heart-warming to see a community come together for a cause. This time, that community spirit is building a barn so the Brookline Historical Society can have more room to …
Friday, October 19, 2012
We encourage you to write letters to the editor supporting political candidates. The more letters, the better. There have been some letters attacking candidates, and we feel letter writers would …
Friday, October 12, 2012
October is National Breast Cancer Awareness Month, and the month that hosts the American Cancer Society’s Making Strides Against Breast Cancer walks. As we enter October and look forward to …
Friday, October 5, 2012
There’s been a lot of preparation and fanfare for Beaver Brook’s Fall Festival and Nature Art Show this weekend, Sept. 29 and 30, from 11 a.m.-5 p.m. The event will …
Friday, September 28, 2012
Firefighters are known for saving lives but when they get together sparks can fly. We don’t mean from the fires they face, but from the tongue-in-cheek jabs they give each …
Friday, September 21, 2012
It’s time for Cow Patty Bingo, live music and homemade apple pie. Yes, that means Hollis Old Home Days is here. Organizers have been working all year to bring an …
Friday, September 14, 2012
As Americans, we have the right and privilege to elect those candidates we choose, and oppose those we believe will not serve in our best interest. We urge all voters …
Friday, September 7, 2012
School began this week and drivers should be extra cautious, especially when approaching school buses and school areas. Let’s face it, children can be very unpredictable. Excited children may be …
Friday, August 31, 2012
Believe it or not, it’s time for back to school. We hope you had a great summer full of barbecues, recreation, and tossing balls on sandy beaches and lakesides. But, …
Friday, August 24, 2012
Find us on Facebook