Nackey S. Loeb School seeking First Amendment Award nominees

MANCHESTER – Nominations are open for the Nackey S. Loeb School of Communication’s 13th annual First Amendment Award, honoring diligence in protecting free press and free speech liberties. The re­cipient will be recognized Nov. 12 at a gala at the Cap­itol Center for the Arts in Concord.

A committee of judges chooses the recipient from public nominations. First Amendment recipients re­ceive a bronze eagle sculp­ture created by Mrs. Loeb and a $1,500 award.

Nomination forms are available at www.loebschool. org or by calling 627-0005. The deadline for nomina­tions is Sept 1.

The award and the school are legacies of the late Na­ckey S. Loeb, president and publisher of the New Hampshire Union Leader and Sunday News.

Past recipients include former New Hampshire Attorney General Philip McLaughlin, former Keene Sentinel Executive Edi­tor Thomas F. Kearney, The Laconia Citizen, political activist and former legis­lator Daniel Hughes, for­mer Dover City Councilor David Scott, Londonder­ry High School journal­ism advisor Mary Lukas, First Amendment attorney William Chapman, former ConVal school board mem­ber Gail Pierson Cromwell, The Portsmouth Herald, David Lang and the Profes­sional Fire Fighters of New Hampshire, The Telegraph of Nashua and murdered New Hampshire journalist James Foley.

First Amendment judg­es are: Rod Doherty, ex­ecutive editor of Foster’s Daily Democrat; retired New Hampshire Supreme Court Justice Richard Gal­way; Atty. Gregory Sul­livan of Malloy & Sulli­van, Lawyers Professional Corp.; and previous First Amendment recipients: John Howe, former execu­tive editor of The Laconia Citizen; and Londonderry High School journalism adviser Mary Lukas.

The nonprofit Nackey S. Loeb School of Commu­nications, Inc. was founded in 1999 to foster interest, integrity and excellence in journalism and other forms of communication. It offers free classes and low-cost workshops in communica­tions and media-related top­ics, taught by professionals from various New Hamp­shire media outlets and busi­nesses.