Seven Souhegan students recognized for academic excellence

AMHERST – Souhegan High School Principal Rob Scully announced seven students were named Commended Students in the 2014 National Merit Scholarship Program.

Souhegan’s Commended Students are seniors Jack Facey, Tina Huang, Jack Lowell, Drew Prescott, Jonathan Robinson, Tas Vamos and Mark Velino.

About 34,000 Commended Students placed among the top 5 percent of more than 1.5 million students who entered the 2014 competition by taking the 2012 Preliminary SAT/National Merit Scholarship Qualifying Test.

Despite this honor, Commended Students do not continue in the 2014 competition for National Merit Scholarship awards.