7 will vie for two selectmen’s seat in Milford

The filing period for town and school offices ended last Friday, Jan. 30, and one interesting race for the March 11 elections is shaping up.

Seven people have signed up for two three-year terms on the Milford Board of Selectmen, including incumbents Kathy Bauer and Mike Putnam. They will be challenged by Matt Bernard, Ed Densmore, Connie Kelleher, Steve Sareault and Andrew Seale.

Also in Milford, incumbent Len Harten has filed for another three-year cemetery trustee term, and incumbents Sarah Philbrick Sandhage and Michael Tule want to keep their positions as library trustees.

Roberta Schelberg is leaving the supervisors of the checklist and Tim Finan has filed for that six-year term.

Incumbent Peter Basiliere has filed for another two-year term as town moderator, and Tina Philbrick has filed for a three-year term as trustee of the Trust Funds, replacing Ed Killam, who did not file.

Robert Courage filed for another three-year position as Water-Wastewater commissioner.

The Milford School District should see few changes. School Board incumbents Paul Dargie and Kevin Drew have filed for three-year terms again.

School District Moderator Peter Basiliere, School District Treasurer Rose Evans and School District Clerk Joan Dargie have all filed to serve again.

In Amherst, Nate Jenson has signed up for the position of school district moderator. Longtime moderator Carol Holden announced that she is retiring from the three-year post.

Amherst School Board incumbents Amy Facey and James Manning filed to retain their three-year seats.

In Mont Vernon, School Board incumbent John Quinlan also filed, and for the Souhegan Cooperative District, all three incumbents signed up: Fran Harrow and Mary Lou Mullens from Amherst and Pim Grondstra from Mont Vernon.

There will likely be no changes on the Amherst Board of Selectmen. Incumbent Mike Akillian filed for a one-year seat and incumbent Tom Grella for a three-year seat.

In Mont Vernon, selectmen’s Chairman John Esposito is being challenged by Wesley Sonner for a three-year seat on the board.