New Hampshire Press Association awards go to Milford Cabinet

The Cabinet picked up several awards from the New Hampshire Press Association at its annual banquet last week.

In the non-daily newspaper category, reporter Kathy Cleveland, who writes for The Telegraph as well as The Cabinet, won two first place awards, one for a general news story and one for a business/economic story, as well as a second place award for a feature story.

The Cabinet won third place in the non-daily, general excellence category.

For the Telegraph of Nashua, The Cabinet’s sister paper, writers won first place in the statewide press association for editorial writing, government reporting, and sports feature writing.

The awards were among those given in more than 60 categories Friday night by the New Hampshire Press Association for newspapers and staff members in daily, non-daily and collegiate classes.

Awards to Telegraph staff went to Roger Carroll, The Telegraph’s editorial page editor, who was named editorial writer of the year, George Scione who won first place for sports feature writing and Jim Haddadin, who won first place for government reporting. The staff of The Telegraph won first place for social issues reporting, for the paper’s Cannabis Care series about medical marijuana. Overall, The Telegraph took third place in general excellence for daily newspapers.

Other Telegraph winners included Joe Cote, who took second place for general news story; Kathleen Palmer, who took second place in the features section category; Joe Marchilena, who took third place in the sports news writing category; and David Brooks, who took third place for business writing. The Telegraph also won third place for front-page design and content.

The Concord Monitor won first place for general excellence in daily newspapers. Hampton Union won first place for general excellence in non-daily newspapers.

Rod Doherty, retired editor of Foster’s Daily Democrat, received an award in recognition of his three-decade career in New Hampshire journalism.