Milford student honored in NH design competition

KEENE – A Milford High School student earned recognition in the New Hampshire Chapter of the American Institute of Architects’ 2015 High School Design Competition.

Awards were distributed at the AIA New Hampshire/Keene State College architecture department annual meeting held at KSC on April 30.

The competition requires students to work on a theoretical project under the guidance of their teachers. AIANH volunteers visit the schools to explain the project and give critiques before the submissions are due. The program involves a design solution, a three-dimensional model and a graphic plan of the project.

AIANH created the program for high school students to increase awareness of the relationships between space, human scale and function; gain experience in recognizing the various challenges in planning and designing indoor and outdoor spaces for specific uses; exercise analytical abilities and creativity in solving the problems; and gain experience in communicating planning and design ideas using scale drawings and models.

The competition gives students a fun opportunity to develop these skills and to learn about the various aspects of planning and design.

This year’s project was for a welcome center at Monadnock State Park. Students could work individually or in teams of two.

These winners received cash awards:

Best Design, Overall Superiority, in all aspects of Design Solution, Model and Graphic Presentation:

1. Patrick Chan, Salem High School.

2. Amanda Gladys and Christina Rose, Pinkerton Academy, Derry.

Best Model describing Design Solution:

Derick Johnson, Kingswood Regional High School, Wolfeboro.

Best Graphic presentation describing Design Solution:

Ian Farr-Szep and Patrick Joseph, ConVal Regional High School, Peterborough.

For Milford student

Jurors’ Special Award for Best Concept:

Tim Tamulonis, Milford High School.

The 2016 AIANH competition details will be released in September at The program is open to all high schools in New Hampshire.

For more information on the New Hampshire chapter contact Carolyn Isaak, executive director, at 357-2863,