Glover wins Amherst race by one vote

Photo by JESSIE SALISBURY Kelliesue Boissonnault was sworn in as Wilton’s first selectwoman on March 27. The oath was administered by Moderator Bill Keefe. In back are Selectman Kermit Williams, left, who was re-elected and also sworn in, and Steve McDonough, whose place Boissonnault is taking. McDonough was named to the post on the resignation of Dan Donovan, but he declined to run for election. Also sworn in was Jane Farrell as town clerk for the 28th year.

AMHERST – John Glover won by only one vote, but he won two times over.

Town elections on March 14 saw Glover tie with Samuel Giarrusso with 478 votes each for a seat on the Amherst School Board.

An official coin toss made Glover the winner, but then Giarrusso requested a recount, and the Amherst School District Board of Recount broke the tie when it met at Town Hall on March 21.

The recount, held according to procedures established by state law, gave Glover 479 votes.

The ad hoc board consisted of the School Board, district moderator Nathaniel Jensen and district clerk Catherine Jo Butler.

Present for the board were Amy Facey, Paul Prescott, Elizabeth Kuzsma and Galen Tremblay.

Terri Behm, who earned 698 votes, was the highest vote recipients among the five candidates vying for two seats on the board.

Sabrina Rando had 156 votes and Dustin N. Gauthier had 154 votes, and the recount did not change them.