Merrimack student among NDA scholarship recipients

TYNGSBOROUGH, Mass. – Scholar­ships were awarded to seven students at the Academy of Notre Dame’s eighth-grade graduation and diploma ceremony held in early June.

Annabelle Fandozzi, of Merrimack, was the recipient of the Abby Hall Class of 2001 Memorial Scholarship funded by the Abby Hall Memorial Scholarship Walk. It is given to a student who will continue her education at the academy and exemplifies the qualities of Abby Hall: a zest for life and the ability to bring out the best in others through involve­ment with student activities.

Elena Murguia, of Hollis, N.H., and Alex Belanger, of Tyngsborough, were awarded the Academy of Notre Dame Parents’ Club Scholarships that were established more than 20 years ago to help eighth-grade stu­dents continue their Catholic education.

Max Stever, of Lowell, was the recipi­ent of the Reichheld Ting Orthodontics Scholarship presented to a student who is an active participant in school, a volun­teer for community service, a peer leader and who arrives to school each day with a smile.

Rebecca Morgheim, of Dracut, was awarded the Connolly-O’Loughlin Schol­arship, given in memory of Francis M. O’Loughlin to a student who has attended the academy since at least seventh grade and will be continuing her education at the acad­emy. The recipient must also demonstrate academic excellence and score highly on the placement exam.

Annika Hanson, of North Billerica, was presented the Suzanne B. Morton ’52 Me­morial Scholarship, given to a student enter­ing the academy high school with a strong academic background and who possesses many of the qualities that best exemplify the ideals of St. Julie Billiart: faith, simplicity, imagination and commitment.

Natalie Kelleher, of Lowell, was named the 2015 Mahoney Scholar and awarded the Leo and Joan Mahoney Memorial Schol­arship. The scholarship was established in 2013 in memory of Mr. and Mrs. Mahoney, who were parents of two high school alum­nae and grandparents of three alumnae and two current students. They were hardwork­ing people dedicated to their family and community, and their legacy continues at the academy. This scholarship is given to a student who will enter the academy’s high school, has spent three years at the acad­emy and is actively involved in the life of the academy, with consideration given to a Lowell resident.