Loeb School seeks award nominees

MANCHESTER – Nominations are open for the Nackey S. Loeb School of Communication’s 13th annual First Amendment Award, honoring diligence in protecting free press and free speech liberties.

The recipient will be recognized Thursday, Nov. 12, at a gala at the Capitol Center for the Arts in Concord.

A committee of judges chooses the recipient from public nominations. First Amendment recipients receive a bronze eagle sculpture created by Loeb and $1,500.

Nomination forms are available at loebschool.org or 627-0005. The deadline for nominations is Tuesday, Sept 1.

Past recipients include former New Hampshire Attorney General Philip McLaughlin, former Keene Sentinel Executive Editor Thomas F. Kearney, The Laconia Citizen, political activist and former legislator Daniel Hughes, former Dover City Councilor David Scott, Londonderry High School journalism adviser Mary Lukas, First Amendment attorney William Chapman, former ConVal school board member Gail Pierson Cromwell, The Portsmouth Herald, David Lang and the Professional Fire Fighters of New Hampshire, The Telegraph of Nashua and murdered New Hampshire journalist James Foley.

The award and the school are legacies of the late Nackey S. Loeb, president and publisher of the New Hampshire Union Leader and Sunday News.

First Amendment judges are Rod Doherty, executive editor of Foster’s Daily Democrat; retired New Hampshire Supreme Court Justice Richard Galway; Attorney Gregory Sullivan of Malloy & Sullivan, Lawyers Professional Corp.; and previous First Amendment recipients Lukas and John Howe, former executive editor of The Laconia Citizen.

The nonprofit Nackey S. Loeb School of Communications was founded in 1999 to foster interest, integrity and excellence in journalism and other forms of communication. It offers free classes and low-cost workshops in communications and media-related topics, taught by professionals from various New Hampshire media outlets and businesses.