Governor’s Arts Awards presented to six at Manchester ceremony

MANCHESTER – As part of its 50-year anniversary of supporting the arts in New Hampshire, the State Council on the Arts announced the winners of the 2015 Governor’s Arts Awards.

The awards were presented at a celebration on Wednesday, Oct. 21, at the New Hampshire Institute of Art in Manchester.

Berlin sculptor Andre Belanger created the awards, which are based on the Statehouse dome eagle – the first public art in the state.

The winners are:

? Individual Arts Patron Award: Meri Goyette, Nashua.

? Lotte Jacobi Living Treasure Award: Jere Osgood, Wilton.

? Arts Education Award: Calvin Herst, Concord, and Anna Nuttall, Portsmouth.

? Distinguished Arts Leadership Award: Melissa Richmond, director, West Claremont Center for Music and the Arts.

? Folk Heritage Award: Ann Winterling, Concord.

"The arts are critical to New Hampshire’s high quality of life, with a long history of strengthening our cultural identity, bringing people together and driving economic growth," Gov. Maggie Hassan said.

"The Governor’s Arts Awards are an opportunity to thank members of our arts community for the outstanding work they’ve done throughout the state, and I thank all of the winners and the entire Granite State arts community for everything they do to make New Hampshire a special place to live, work and raise a family."

For information, call 668-5588.