Local students nominated for academies

MANCHESTER – U.S. Sen. Jeanne Shaheen, D-N.H., nominated 41 New Hampshire students to the United States service academies.

"Once again, New Hampshire has produced an exceptionally talented group of young men and women who are eager to serve their country," Shaheen said. "I applaud the impressive work these students are doing in their communities and their willingness to serve in military leadership. Our nation’s service academies are very demanding, but I’m confident they are up to the challenge."

Shaheen serves on the board of visitors to the U.S. Naval Academy, which provides oversight for morale, discipline, curriculum, instruction, equipment, fiscal affairs and other matters.

Local students nominated by Shaheen are:

Naval Academy

Pheonyx Stopyra, Merrimack

Lukas Atwood, Nashua

Nathan Holt, Bedford

Cameron Jackson, Hollis

Sarah Lowell, Amherst

Matthew Watrous, Brookline

Military Academy

Grant Levasseur, Litchfield

Sarah Lowell, Amherst

Air Force Academy

Tia Gaumont, Merrimack

Dakota Clark, Bedford

Reed Lamy, Bedford