Bedford girls dethrone BG

For the first time in 13 years, a team other than the Bishop Guertin High School girls track team is Division I champions.

Bedford won its first D-I indoor title, and did so in convincing fashion Saturday at the University of New Hampshire. The Bulldogs scored 103 points to finish ahead of Bishop Guertin (58) and Pinkerton (46). Merrimack took fourth with 39 points and Londonderry (33) rounded out the top five.

Letti Hibbard won the 55 hurdles, finishing in 8.83 seconds, and also finished second in the high jump and fourth in the long jump. Anika Hibbard took first in the high jump (5-6) and finished second in the long jump.

Bedford had four others place in the high jump, as Heather Morrison and Emma Bzik finished fourth and fifth, respectively, and Michelle Morrison and Molly McCoole tied for sixth. Bzik was also sixth in the long jump.

Gwenyth Winship won the 600 (1:38.96) and was third in the 55.

Courtney Pederson was second in the shot put and Jenna Gosselin came in sixth in the same event, while Danielle Angelini took fourth in the 1,000. McCoole was also fourth in the 55 hurdles and Riley Blue took sixth in the same event.

Winship, Letti Hibbard, Kathlyn Rooney and Mollie Redman finished third in the 4×160 relay, while Winship, Redman, Rebecca Rooney and Olivia CoCo came in second in the 4×400 relay. Bedford’s 4×800 relay team of CoCo, Angelini, Sheila Synan and Jamie Salvatore also came in second.


The Bulldogs (32) finished fifth, as Pinkerton (91) won its fourth title in a row. Londonderry (54) took second and Merrimack (36) was third. Dover (33) was fourth.

Ryan Wittenberg won the 600 (1:23.9) and teammated with Austin D’Anjou, Theodore Sarette and Connor Collins to finish first in the 4×400 relay.

Brandon Levenstein was second in the 55 and Matt Dyer took fourth in the 55 hurdles.