Sports Talk


Jaguars dance team wraps up first season

Bedford Jaguars dance team is wrapping up an amazing first season by performing at Friday night’s Manchester Monarchs game in Manchester.

The girls have been performing around the state the last few months at various events. Their fun school girl theme has been a crowd pleaser.

The team is made up of Emma Spector, Allie Garron, Lily Justic, Ryan Burke, Maddie LaCroix, Kaylee Synder, Nina Villarante, Chloe Avallone, Sophia LeGoullon, Emerson Kelly, Kamryn Schmitt, Taylor Guibord, Lindsey Healy, Emily Twitchell, Gianna Shaheen, Sophia Mosher, Megan Carroll, Grace Steward, Megan Muir, Victoria Manniello, Elena Doughty, Skylar Tobin and Nicole Dumont.


Tiny Mite

The Tiny Mite squad closed out a great season with a Super Bowl contest against Manchester Black.

Bedford’s first drive culminated with Hudson Schmitt taking it to the house from 40 yards out, after rumbling over an Eagles cornerback and tight-roping his way into the end zone for the first score.

The Bulldogs ran a diversified attack with first carries for Beau Dunker, Graham Chmielecki, Evan Laforge, Beckett Maslanka, Patrik Burke, and a nifty wildcat run by Noah Humphrey. Andre Steinbrueck ran a blast up the middle and bounced wide to add another Bedford score. The offensive line was an immovable force led by Gavin McConnell, Gabe Warren, Jake Boughter, Carter Rick, and Tristin Leck.

In all, 13 different Bulldogs carried the rock. The ‘Dogs’ D was ill-tempered and chippy all morning led by Trenton Otero, Beau Boughter, Sam Doty, Nolan Murphy and a ferocious effort by Jack Petrosino.

The TM’ers secondary was solid, with pass coverage by Camden Santos, Drew Redfern and Teddy Bond that was superb. Logan O’Connell was rabid at linebacker, and Evan Maslanka kept with the Halloween theme and pillaged from his monster back position.

Mitey Mite Red

Jr. Bulldogs 14,

Wildcats 0

The Bedford Jr. Bulldogs Mitey Mite Red team finished their undefeated season Sunday afternoon with a hard fought 14-0 victory over the 7-1 New Hampshire Wildcats.

The Bulldogs came out firing from the opening kickoff with Nate Clark returning the kick 20-yards to the Wildcat 45. From there, Kevin Sheridan (one TD), took control behind great line blocking from Jack Mastrodicasa, Alex Grudinskas and Jalen Kamineni, leading to a 7-yard run from Luke Soden around the left end. Dylan Soden kicked the PAT (his 10th of the year) to give the Bulldogs a quick 8-0 lead.

Leading the Bulldogs’ defense, Spencer Henrichon took control making several big tackles and holding the Wildcat attack in check. After a back and forth second quarter, with strong defensive line play from Teghan McConnell, Kevin Mastrodicasa and Christian Morley, Drew Brothers changed momentum grabbing his 3rd interception of the season and returning the ball 25 yards to the Wildcat 23 before time ran out in the fist half.

The Bulldog defense was fully tested in the third quarter by a revived NH Wildcat offensive attack. The Wildcats, behind strong running from multiple backs, moved the ball to the Bulldog 15-yard line before Spencer Henrichon, Brock Tamburello, Brady O’Connell, Dylan Soden and Will Helmke stopped them in their tracks and giving possession back to the Bulldogs.

With 85-yards to paydirt and a championship, the Red offense put together a 7 minute drive behind Tyler Johnson, Alex Grudinskas, Caleb Goldstein and Ethan Steichen. Kevin Sheridan did most of the inside running, carrying Wildcat tacklers into the end zone as he scored with 3:24 left in the game to give Bedford a 14-0 lead and a perfect 9-0 season.

Mitey Mite Silver

Mitey Might Silver locked horns with the Seacoast Titans in the Super Bowl on Sunday. With 5 minutes remaining in the first half, Bedford fans sighed with Seacoast up 13-0, but the coaches knew the game was just starting. On the very next series, Danny Black connected with Ronan Balistreri for the first six points. Jack Riso recovered a fumble on the kickoff, then added an extra point after a long touchdown run by Ledger Russell to tie the game at the half.

Key blocks by Hunter Crowley, Zach Elmer and Charlie Cariello sealed the edges to allow successful outside runs. The third quarter was a defensive struggle until Seacoast broke the gridlock with what appeared to be a sure touchdown, until a Dean Poltronieri fumble recovery silenced their hopeful fans.

Pressure from Kaeden Elmer, Tyrece Sealey, Brody Cassidy and Dominic Carey forced the Seacoast offense into several mistakes. The fourth quarter started with a Seacoast three-and-out, highlighted with sacks by Brady Champagne and Justin Chiras. Ledger then scored another touchdown, putting Bedford ahead 19-13. The top-rated Bedford defense went to work. Evan Dunker and Brady Jackson shut down the outside with key tackles, forcing Seacoast up the middle.

Within the Bedford red zone, Aaron Chmielecki and Nick Polishan made huge open field touchdown saving tackles, followed by an interception by Ronan to seal the victory.

Jr. Pee Wee Red

The Jr. Pee Wee Red football team was defeated 38-24 by the Seacoast Titans in the semifinal round of the State Pop Warner playoffs.

Grizzled veterans Josh Tobin, Owen Christopher, Cam Cilley, Graham Frederick, William Kramer, Thomas Rice, Evan Schmitt, Andrew McGee, Ben Stuart, Presley Trento, Mathew Vranich, Dylan Bellerose and Joey Piacentini led by example all year and were quick to praise and encourage their younger teammates along the way.

Jackson Bolduc, Ethan Healy, Ethan Flanagan, Kieran Rice, Nathan Pratte, Ryan Guerrette were among the rising stars this year and are well equipped to lead next year’s Jr. Pee Wee team and are sure to pass along what they learned from the veterans to the younger players next year. Finally, first year players Aidan McMonigle, Samual Ward and Vasily Kirpolenko were introduced to the sport of football and became invaluable to the team by season’s end.