SHS boys soccer celebrates

The Souhegan High School boys soccer pro­gram recently celebrates its 25th season with a team banquet.

Included in this group was a record-breaking 17 seniors participating this fall. The highest previous number of seniors par­ticipating occurred both in 2003 and 2009 with a dozen each year. The se­nior class of soccer ath­letes included 13 New Hampshire All-Scholastic players who maintain a grade-point average of higher than 3.25. Addition­ally, this marks the second time in SHS history where the team earned a Nation­al Soccer Coaches Asso­ciation of American Team Academic Award with a team GPA of 3.38.

Additional recognition for the NHIAA Division II quarterfinalists includ­ed honorable mention All-State back Spencer George, first-team All- State midfielder, NH Lions Cup Team Erik Richard­son and second-team All- State forward Ali Ewiess.

The first team included juniors Jacob Hopfenspir­ger and Cameron Watson, who scored great goals to earn the shared Goal of the Year award.

Junior Sam Pham con­tributed his high-level work ethic, while junior goalkeeper Matt Greany earned Save of the Year honors. Thomas Hornor, a sophomore earned Rookie of the Year and Attacking Player of the Year honors.

The ceremony addition­ally recognized the won­derful seasons of the sec­ond and third team.

Second-team honorees include juniors Jacob Alger, Ryder Boothroyd, Ben Carnick, Most Im­proved Player Camden Fritz, Attacking Player of the Year Jackson Gordon, Ryan Hickey (Leadership Award), Coach’s Award Winner Monty Jones, Cole Manz, Liam McGrath, Cyrus Movassaghi (De­fender of the Year), Marc Patnaude and Ethan Rich­ards; and sophomores Luke Civiello, Patrick Conway, Seth Facey, Tyler Hall, Ethan Hopey, Josh Lacaillade, Ian Lewis, Evan Loconto, Jack Man­ning, Khaled Nazeer, and Rylee Young.

Third-team honorees include Most Improved Player Jonah Brandes, Midfielder of the Year Tristan Colby, Attacker of the Year Michael Es­tabrook, Coach’s Award Winner Gavin Harrold, Defender of the Year Ja­cob Kayser, alongside teammates Dallin Adams, Luke Leighton, Curtis Redd, Alec Reitter, and Daniel Steel and Jacob Perron.