Cavs will try for 3rd wrestling title in row

For the second year in a row, it appears to be a three-team race for the Division II wrestling championship, but this year, a different team looks like the favorite to end up with the crown.

After winning the division dual championship, the Bedford High School wrestling team is the one to beat heading into Saturday’s meet, which will begin at 9 a.m. at Hollis Brookline.

But if the Bulldogs slip up, HB, the two-time defending champion, and Milford will be right there to steal the title.

The Bulldogs enter with four wrestlers seeded No. 1, the most of any team, and four more at No. 2, including Colin Perras at 132-pounds. Perras was the champion at 120 a year ago and is one of eight Bedford wrestlers who placed at last year’s meet. Jake Hall (106), Ben Dow (120), Josh Belz (145) and Chris Conery (152) are all top seeds in their class and all placed in 2013.

HB and Milford aren’t lacking in seeded wrestlers or experience. The Cavs have two wrestlers – Jonathan Lopez and Caleb Lomme – who were individual champs a year ago, but both have moved up a weight class to 113 and 160, respectively. Both are seeded second while Austin Bumpus, who was third at 182, is seeded No. 1 at 195 this year. Also seeded second for HB is Nathaniel Lindsay (126), Christian Lopez (145) and Kayne Robert (182).

Milford has three top seeds in Devin Dolliver (138), Scott Dannewitz (170) and Travis Hughes (285). Both Dolliver and Dannewitz made it to the finals a year ago, with Dannewitz coming close to winning a title after getting stitches in his head earlier in the day.

Alvirne and Merrimack also have wrestlers seeded in the meet. The Broncos have two No. 1 seeds in Taylor Thyne (113) and Evan Manning (182), while Nick Millinazzo (120) is seeded second. Merrimack’s Corey Little is seeded third at 285, and behind Milford’s Hughes and Bedford’s Robert Lamy, who was second in the same weight a year ago.

Other No. 1 seeds in the tournament include Goffstown’s Jacob Nault (126) and Connor Bourque (132), who was the champion at 126 last year. ConVal’s Adam Smullen will also be a top seed as he tries to defend his title at the same weight, and Manchester West’s Edgar Hernandez is seeded No. 1 at 220.