Windham edges HB for D-II title

PETERBOROUGH – For the second straight year, it all came down to Hollis Brookline and Windham to determine the Division II team championship. And for the second straight year, the team leading as the finals began wasn’t the team that won the title.

The Cavaliers had to stand by and watch as Windham heavyweight Patrick Hume scored a 5-0 victory for himself and his Jaguars, who beat HB 191-187 at ConVal High School.

Milford (157 points), Merrimack (121) and Winnacunnet (109) rounded out the top five, while Bishop Guertin (73.50) was eighth in the 11-team field.

It would have actually been a five-point win for Windham if not for a one-point unsportsmanlike penalty assessed when a Jaguars wrestler threw his head gear after losing in a final.

It was a bittersweet ending for repeat champion Kayne Robert, of HB, who pinned Windham’s Michael Furey in 3:34 for his second D-II title at 195.

"I’m really excited," Robert said. "Winning D-II is a big accomplishment for me. But, I feel really bad for the team though. We were so close. It was such a close fight and we came up on the wrong side of the final score."

Robert wasn’t the only Cavaliers wrestler to be standing on the podium’s top step when the meet concluded.

He was joined by two more individual champions from HB.

Nathaniel Lindsay won the 138-pound title by pinning Milford’s Ricky DeBernardo in 1:50. Wyatt Farwell scored a 10-5 victory over Winnacunnet’s John Ferrelli for the 160-pound championship.

Lindsay and Farwell had been in the final the last two years only to leave as runners-up in their weight classes.

"Finally!" was all Farwell had on his mind as his arm was raised. "Finally, I won.

"Just glad after three years in the finals that I won, but it’s just kind of a stepping stone for the state meet next week."

Lindsay will also be at Nashua High School North for the Feb. 27 Meet of Champions.

"It was a weight lifted off my chest," Lindsay said. "My first thought after winning was MOC’s."

HB will be sending 10 wrestlers to MOC’s overall, as the top five D-II wrestlers qualify.

Joining the Cavaliers’ three champions will be Cameron Dreyer (fourth at 106), Zack Brickner (fourth at 113), Garrett Klausner (second at 120), Nick McPherson (second at 145), Christian Lopez (fourth at 170), Caleb Lomme (second at 182) and Clement Sherwood (second at 220).

"That’s the beauty of wrestling," HB coach Brian Bumpus said. "Yeah, that team thing is obviously something we all want. We put a lot of importance on that heading into the season, that we wanted to be that team. But luckily when things don’t fall your way as a unit, you are able to have those individual experiences."

Also enjoying those individual experiences as D-II champions from Greater Nashua were Bishop Guertin’s Jacob Bue, a 14-0 winner over ConVal’s Eric Wall at 126 pounds; Milford’s Mike Pellitteri, who pinned Manchester West’s Markus Joseph in 48 seconds at 152; and Merrimack’s Mitchell McMahon, who pinned Lomme in 2:41 for the 182 title.

In all, 34 Greater Nashuans qualified for Meet of Champions.

The rest the the local MOC’s qualifiers were: Bishop Guertin’s Daniel Franco (second at 132), Matt Hauntsman (fifth at 145) and Hunter McLaughlin (third at 152); Merrimack’s Jon Torres (fifth at 106), Julien Hovan (third at 126), Eric Theriault (fourth at 138), Sean Hebert (third at 145), Connor Vance (fourth at 152), Kyle Newman (fifth at 160), Phoenyx Stopyra (fifth at 170), Dominic Damata (fourth at 195) and Adam Black (fifth at 285); Milford’s Matt Digiosio (second at 106), Ryan Hamilton (third at 132), DeBernardo (second at 138), Peyton Dannewitz (fourth at 145), Kyle Faucher-Clancy (third at 160), Jake Ricca (third at 170), George Horta (fourth at 182), Josh Smith (third at 195) and Jonathan Shaw (third at 220).