Bedford Troop 5 Honors Women Leaders

Pictured in the photo from left to right are Elizabeth Stodolski, Patty Shottes, and Deidre Helmke. Liz was the 2016 recipient and was recognized for coordinating the troop’s very successful annual yard sale over the past four years. Deidre was the 2017 recipient and was recognized for her contributions as an Assistant Scoutmaster.

On December 4, 2018, the Daniel Webster Council of the Boy Scouts of America held its third annual “Golden Doe” Awards ceremony at Murphy’s Tap Room in Bedford. The award is presented to exceptional women in Scouting upon the recommendation of their local Scouting Units. Bedford Troop 5, which was charted in 1992 by the Bedford Rotary Club, has been fortunate to have a great number of women in leadership roles.

Patty Shottes of Bedford was named the 2018 recipient of the award and was recognized for her contributions as a merit badge counselor and committee member. In her four years with the troop she has helped countless Scouts earn the merit badges needed on their way to Eagle, in addition to helping on trips, coordinating medical forms, and serving on the troop committee. The two prior recipients of this award for Troop 5, Elizabeth Stodolski and Deidre Helmke, both from Bedford, were also in attendance.

Bedford Troop 5 currently has 80 registered Scouts and 27 registered adult leaders. In its 26 year history it has seen 55 Scouts achieve the rank of Eagle Scout. Troop meetings are held at McKelvie Intermediate School every Monday from 6:30 to 8 p.m. from October through April, and at Camp Allen in Bedford from April through October, except when school is not in session. For more information please contact