Plymouth tops Portsmouth in OT to win D-II football crown

PLYMOUTH – The Plymouth High School football team denied Portsmouth its third straight championship on Saturday, winning a thriller in overtime to capture the Division II crown, 21-14.

The title gives Plymouth its second straight crown, as the Bobcats won the Division IV championship last season. No. 1 Plymouth finished with an 11-1 record, while No. 2 Portsmouth ended 10-2.

Portsmouth had multiple opportunities as regulation came to a close, but turnovers and timely stops by Plymouth halted the Clippers’ drives.

Plymouth qauarterback Collin Sullivan overcame a penalty on the first possession of overtime and rushed for a 13-yard score to give his team the lead.

Portsmouth had one last opportunity, but quarterback Donovan Phanor couldn’t connect with receiver Loden Formichelli.

Plymouth coach Chuck Lenahan was able to walk off his home field as a winner after the final game of his 43-year career. It was also the 20th championship for Lenahan as Bobcats’ head coach.