American Legion helps honor Lurgio Middle School student awardees

For many years the Stevens-Buswell Post No. 54 of the American Legion has participated in the awards ceremonies at the Ross A. Lurgio Middle School. This year, Post Commander Ben Bahoque and Adjutant John Graham continued that tradition.

The Citizenship Award recognizes students who have demonstrated outstanding scholarship, achievement and citizenship. This year, the staff and faculty at Lurgio nominated 18 students and selected two winners. Those nominated were: Olivia Archard, John Boyden, Christina Braga, Emma Connors, Thomas Crowther, Bohdan Higley, Devon Kerr, Kyle Lavigne, Rhys Lossman, Avery Manni, Jason Merk, Roisi Russell, Holly Souter, Dylan Steward, Torrance Wagner and Benjamin Westbrook. All of the students nominated should be congratulated for their extraordinary achievements while attending Lurgio Middle School. Each nominee received a certificate attesting to his or her achievement.

The two students chosen by the staff and faculty as most deserving of this citizenship award were Paige Muir and Mathew Flanagan. Both of the winners received a certificate, a commemorative medallion and a cash prize.

The members of the post wish to thank the staff and faculty of the Lurgio Middle School for both their hard work in selecting the nominees and for continuing the tradition of recognizing our young citizens.