Bedford Women’s Club celebrates another good year

During its annual Spring Luncheon held May 17, the Bedford Women’s Club celebrated its charitable donations to organizations which impact Bedford residents. It also installed the 2018-19 officers and directors.

The Bedford Women’s Club held their final luncheon of the year in the Carriage House at Murphy’s Tap Room in Bedford. Spur of the Moment, a barbershop quartet that entertains with a mix of songs from many eras and genres, provided the entertainment. The officers for the new year were introduced and presented with roses.

Gen Miller, outgoing president, thanked all of the members who have made the past two years so enjoyable.

The club contributed $13,000 to scholarships and charities this year. Once again, BWC made a donation to St. Joseph’s Community Services to help cover the cost of Meals on Wheels. Other charities to receive checks are: The Bedford Food Pantry; Friends of the Bedford Cemetery to restore a revolutionary hero’s gravestone located in the Back River Cemetery; The Animal Rescue League for its Companion Animal Assistance Fund; Stand by Me for its annual workshop with the Ross Lurgio Middle School community; Upreach Therapeutic Equestrian Center to support scholarships for Bedford participants; the Bedford Library Foundation to make a donation, which will allow the library to purchase a pass to the New England Aquarium for the 2018-19 year; the Bedford Historical Society to support the restoration and preservation of two original portraits by John Goffe Rand; Liberty House to purchase food for residents and Bedford veterans who come to their door. The Scholarship Committee will award two Josephine A. Fearon Scholarships to residents of Bedford, Class of 2018.

Planning for the new year will begin immediately under the leadership of Margie McKinney, and Ann Mulvee, co-presidents. Also serving are:

• Co-first vice presidents: Bennie Hanauer and Becky Hubert.

• Co-second vice presidents: Janis Manno and Ellie Hanlon.

• Co-recording secretaries: Melinda Penrose and Ruthie Smith.

• Corresponding secretary: Patty Martin.

• Treasurer: Margaret Goodrich.

• Directors: Gen Miller, Bobbe Fairman, Frankie Sidore, Suzanne Hyman, Marilyn Frederick .

To contact the club, go to or write to Bedford Women’s Club, P.O. Box 10015, Bedford, NH 03110.