Bedford falls in D-I final

File photo by Jason Orfao Bishop Guertin senior Mike Rinko (1) defends a shot from Bulldogs senior Troy Meservey in early March during the Bulldogs’ 68-53 triumph at Bedford in the regular-season finale. The upstart Bulldogs marched all the way to the Division I championship, but was defeated by Portsmouth on Saturday.

DURHAM – Portsmouth capped its second straight perfect season with a 63-40 rout of No. 3 Bedford in the Division I boys basketball championship on Saturday at the University of New Hampshire’s Lundholm Gymnasium.

Christian Peete scored a game-high 21 points, while Joey Glynn tallied 20 points and 10 rebounds for Portsmouth.

Shon Parham contributed seven points and seven assists for the top-seeded Clippers (21-0), who went undefeated en route to a Division II title triumph over Lebanon last year.

Bedford (16-4) – which trailed 12-4 after the first quarter and 23-15 at halftime – and was led by Liam Greene’s 13 points and five rebounds.

Portsmouth blew the game open in the third quarter by outscoring the Bulldogs 24-9, building a 47-24 cushion heading into the fourth before cruising to the championship.

Division II

No. 1 Lebanon 59, Coe-Brown Northwood 42

With no Portsmouth to deal with this season, Division II Player of the Year Ryan Milliken scored 23 points and grabbed five rebounds to lead the top-seeded Raiders to the D-II title on Saturday afternoon at UNH’s Lundholm Gymnasium.

Chris Nulty added 14 points for Lebanon, while Matthew Eylander tacked on 12. KJ Matte, the 2015-16 D-II Player of the Year who has battled injury this season, was limited to five points for the Raiders. Lebanon – which also won the D-II girls basketball title – converted 24 of 26 free throws and outscored the Bears 25-13 in the final quarter.

Brody Ashley led Coe-Brown with 14 points and four rebounds.