Hollis Brookline winter teams are off and running

Three champs for Cavalier


The Hollis Brookline wrestling team finished third at the recent Milford Souhegan Wrestling Invitational Tournament.

The Cavaliers crowned three individual champions on the day, taking their spot in the 13-team tournament behind champion Coventry, R.I., and Winchester, Mass.

Hollis Brookline’s Owen MacMillan took a stirring win in the 220-pound championship match.

MacMillan got off his back, reversing things on his opponent from Manchester Memorial and delivered the championship with a victory via pinfall.

Joining MacMillan atop the podium were teammates Zack Brickner and Tyler St. Pierre.

Brickner, at 182 pounds, won in style, just as MacMillan did with a victory by fall, his third on the day.

The 170-pound title match might as well have been a workout in coach Brian Bumpus’ Cavalier wrestling room.

It pitted HB’s Scott Anneser and Tyler St. Pierre going head to head.

In the end, it was Anneser taking the decision in a very even final.

Rounding out the HB placers were Sam Kock (195) and Hunter Hudzik (160), each of whom won the consolation finals match for third.

The HB wrestlers hosted their Nor’Easter Invitational on Saturday.


The Cavalier girls basketball team picked up its first win of the season (1-1) over Milford as nine players scored, led by Elizabeth Stapelfeld and Abby Magnuszewski with eight each. Amanda Goclowski added 10 rebounds.

The Spartans (0-2) were led by Meghan Cavanaugh’s 11 points.


In Division III, the Hollis Brookline-Derryfield Warriors boys hockey team can only go up from a one-win season a year ago, and will try to do so under new coach (former assistant) Joel Sanborn with good numbers, as many as 13 returnees and eight freshmen. “We hope to improve over last year’s record,” Sanborn said. “The goaltending looks solid.”

COACH: Joel Sanborn (first season).

LAST SEASON: 1-15, did not qualify for tournament.

RETURNING REGULARS: Alec MacEachen, sr. def; Dylan Terenzoni, sr. fd; Cam Bishop, sr. fd; Jared Sanborn, jr. fd; Nick Dapolito, jr. fd; Aiden Chretien, jr. fd; Salvatore Vella, so.fd; Colin MacDonald, so.fd; Michael McLaughlin, so.fd; Joey Oetjens, so.def., Chris Slater, sr. goalie.

OTHER RETURNING LETTER WINNERS: Andrew Nordstrom,jr.fd; Nathan Eisenhauer, sr. fd; Ryan Caparelli, Trey Sovie, Rylan Morgan, goalie

PROMISING NEWCOMERS: Conor Sanborn, fr; Torin White, fr.; Aiden Row, fr; Paul Vachon, fr; Matt McBean, fr; Jacob Roy, fr.; Matt Tourangeau, fr.; Jackson Cikota, fr.

COACH’S COMMENTS: “The team looks promising,” Sanborn said. “I have a good mix of upperclassmen and with the newcomers, that gives us some depth.”


The defending Division II state boys basketball champions from Hollis Brookline High opened the defense of their title this week with plenty of holes to fill.

Only one starter returns from the championship team, junior Grant Snyder.

Pembroke and Oyster River should be at or near the top of the heap in Division II, which remains a wide-open proposition.

“I expect that we put the team first and we come to give 100 percent effort in practice everyday,” said second-year coach Cole Etten, who has named Snyder and Dhruv Miglani captains for the winter.

Here’s a look at the team:

COACH: Cole Etten


REMAINING ROSTER: Dhruv Miglani, Sr., F; Ben Lindsay, Sr., G; Tim Sulin, Sr., G; Isaac Connelly, Jr., F; Brian Holroyd, Jr., G; Connor Russell, Jr., G; Sander Wimmer, Jr., F; Quinten Wimmer, Jr., F; Ryan Coutu, Jr., F; Max Staplefeld, Jr., G; Henry Boudreau, Jr., F